Philip Fulmer Interested in Iowa State? Seems Like a Stretch

Phil Fulmer in happier, 1998 national-title times

Phil Fulmer in happier, 1998 national-title times

 

 

 

 

I’m just spreading unsourced gossip, which isn’t really what they taught me in journalism school.

Then again, I was an English major.

If I were Phil Fulmer, I’d want to recharge for a year after getting fired at Tennessee. Do some living. Spend a little of that buyout money on a good meal or two, some time in the Caribbean, maybe a new wardrobe that doesn’t contain the color orange.

But these coaches are different animals.

There is a rule during college coaching searches, and that rule is outsiders exchange rumors. At least one has to be really wild, and another has to be at least a stretch of the imagination. This one seems like a wild stretch.

Anyway, here’s the link from KXNO-AM: I’m not buying into it one bit. But I link, you decide.

http://kxno.com/pages/pp_cotlar.html

Meanwhile, Fresno State Coach Pat Hill says he’s on no list to be a candidate for another job.

When coaches say that … it could mean anything.

Asked about Iowa State on Wednesday, Hill said  “No, no. I’m not on any list. Let’s talk about the bowl game. I don’t even know what you’re talking about.”

Fresno State is playing Colorado State Saturday in the New Mexico Bowl.

“I don’t even know what you’re talking about.” is more the national reaction to the New Mexico Bowl.

The Fresno Bee item on Hill and ISU:

http://www.fresnobeehive.com/sportsbuzz/2008/12/hill_a_candidate_for_iowa_stat.html

Meanwhile, columnist Jason Whitlock suggests Turner Gill could stand a little more seasoning and proving at Buffalo before he lands a job with a BCS conference school.

I was one who rushed to declare Gill a great fit for Iowa State, but I concede Whitlock makes good points.

http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/story/8959530/Gill-needs-to-find-program-that-fits-him

Leave a Reply

